The Beauty of Sci Fi: Experiment with creating patterns on the face # Techfile

Equipments:

20151029_112032

  • Cleanser, toner, moisturizer
  • Cotton pads
  • Kryolan Supracolor palette
  • Kryolan Acqacolor palette
  • Illamasqua liquid metal in phenomena molten silver
  • Illamasqua liquid metal in electrum antique gold
  • Water
  • Spray bottle
  • Towel
  • Make up brushes
  • Masking tape
  • Cleansing wipes

– Aquacolor palette mix with a bit of water can create smooth and bold colors, but it dries really quickly.

– Supracolor palette can gives paste, creamy texture and bold colours to the look.

In this lesson, we have experiment with different methods to create patterns on the face.

20151029_122212
Before (Model : Mihaela Solomei)

Directions:

  1. Cleanse, tone and moisturizer the model’s face.
  2. You can ask your model to crease their face so you can create some line patterns around the eye. I have started to stipple some black colours first on the face around the eyes areas. I have smudged the edges of the black colour so to make a more natural finish. It also helps me to create some dotted patterns when dabbing the colour with a brush.
  3. Then, I have added the supra color palette (Gold colour) on top of the black colour using a brush. After that, I have used Illamasqua liquid metal (in electrum antique gold) and use my fingers to dab the color onto the face as well.
  4. Then, I have used the Illamasqua liquid metal (in phenomena molten silver) and use my fingers to apply the color on the eyelids and smudge the color. I have also dab some of the silver color onto the black and gold color as well.
  5. After that, I have applied Illamasqua liquid metal (in electrum antique gold) and applied it on the lips with my finger. I have smudged the color a bit and then I have smudged some black color on the side of the lips as well.
  6. I have tried to create a down angled shape on the forehead using the masking tape. First, I have stuck the masking tape onto the forehead and then using a brush to apply the color on the edge of the masking tape. After that I have tear the tape off from the forehead and it creates a nice straight line. Do the same on the other side of the down angled shape. Then, I have smudged the side that I didn’t used the masking tape to create straight lines with my fingers and blend the color into the skin.

After

20151029_11392520151029_11391920151029_11395020151029_11401820151029_11403520151029_114039

I really like the effects of dabbing the colors on the skin as it creates crackle glazes pattern. On this make-up look, I have used the color black, gold and silver because I want to create a character which links to the galaxy pattern and a mixture of robotic ideas. I think the stippled effects of the color black in the middle works well and it looks like a decayed robotic skin with the adding of silver colors blending in.

Leave a Reply

